Skip to content

There’s No Better Place To Explore

July 12, 2013

The majority of my Career as an Exploration Geologist has been spent drilling and exploring for Minerals in the remote regions of Northern Ontario and Nunavut.  The beauty of our country is, in my opinion, best experienced in Nunavut where Caribou, Muskox, Arctic Wolves, Grizzly and Polar Bears all roam throughout this part of Canada uninhabited by man. It’s a place where you have the best seats in the house for a close up view of the spectacular northern lights, and where you can have the unusual experience of 24 hour sunlight. However, the challenges are many when you are called upon to work here. With no running water and no electricity readily available, the challenges of living in a remote fly in – fly out camp are numerous to say the least.  For me, it was mostly the time spent away from my family. One particular project that comes to mind was a mapping project on the Boothia Peninsula (Just south of where the Franklin Expedition crew member’s bodies were found). I was living in a Windhaven canvas tent for two months (see below). The geology was spectacular, but I can tell you I craved a coffee from a famous Canadian company and man did I need a haircut when we demobilized that camp!!

tent1

Roger’s home away from home for a mapping project in Nunuvut. Notice the Inuksuks in the background. Photo taken at 3am in the morning

Since coming on board with Geodex, that has all changed. The projects we are currently working on are all located here in New Brunswick. Access to all of our projects is very easy, minimizing costs and making my job a whole lot more enjoyable. This was very evident during our recent drill program at Dungarvon. It was convenient to be able to drive the pick-up to the drill rig. I have the fortunate ability to be home every night with my family, get a haircut when I need one, and yes get a coffee from that famous Canadian company, or at least some version of it at local corner stores and gas bars on route to  drill  sites  with our Technician / Prospector Bruce Stewart. I also now have the opportunity in applying my exploration skills for commodities such as tungsten, molybdenum and tin and I am definitely excited for the discovery of the next important mine in New Brunswick!!

 

Roger in coreshack

Roger Fitzgerald, Senior Exploration Geologist for Geodex analysing core at our core storage facilities

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment